youth 001The Cebu Provincial Government invited all youth leaders from 51 municipalities that comprise the Province of Cebu for a Youth Convention and Regular Elections held at Cebu Grand Hotel, Escario St. Cebu City last August 26, 2016.

The Youth sector in the Province of Cebu has now a permanent representation at the provincial government after an ordinance creating a Provincial Youth Commission has been approved. The ordinance, authored by Provincial Board member Miguel Antonio Magpale, plays as the highest policy making and coordinating body in all efforts on youth development in the province. It will be responsible for the formulation and recommendation of policies, and coordination and implementation of youth development programs, projects and activities in the province.

Each municipality sent their youth focal and 6 best youth leaders will represent and/or commission each of the youth subsectors under ordinance namely; In-School Youth Subsector, Out-of-School Youth Subsector, Youth with Special Needs Subsector, Working Youth Subsector, Religious Youth Subsector and Community Based Youth Subsector. Together with Mr. Joel P. Aliñabon – Dalaguete youth Focal, the Municipal Government of Dalaguete sent their 6 youth leaders to participate the said elections; James Russell T. Gelaga, Catherine Quevedo, Gary Villahermosa, Julie Ann Trinidad, Genesis Faith Dicdiquin and Desiree Bacarisas.

youth 002The specific functions of the committee which are provided under the ordinance further include developing and providing support for the development and coordination of youth projects and design strategies to gain support and participation of the all sectors, establishing youth centres, convening and confederate all youth organizations operating in the Province and registered with the National Youth Commission, among others. The PYC will be chaired by the Governor, or his authorized representative, and co-chaired by the Vice Governor.

During the convention, all the youth leaders/representatives were shuffled together by subsectors. Hon. Miguel Antonio A. Magpale, Board Member of 5th District welcomed everyone at the start of the program. Mr. Enrique S. Felisario II gave the Objectives and Outline of the activity. The youth also actively listened to the Message of Support by their special guests, Rep. Sarah Jane I. Elago -  Congresswoman, KABATAAN Party-list, Hon. Earl Tidy H. Oyas – President, PCL Cebu, Board Member Ex Officio and Atty. Ramil P. Abing – Executive Assistant V, Office of the Governor, Province of Cebu. To further know and be familiar about the Ordinance Creating the Cebu Provincial Youth Commission, Mr. Vince Job R. Amor and Jade B. Ardines – Office of Board Member Magpale discussed the Salient Features and opened the floor as well for questions and clarifications.

At lunch break, they were encouraged to file for a candidacy to be a commissioner for their assigned subsector.  Each candidate was able to address their campaign speeches before casting of votes. After a long process of counting and validating the votes, they were able to complete the new 6 commissioners and took their oath of office at the same time they were declared as new commissioners of Provincial Youth Commission;



  Provincial Youth Commissioner                             Provincial Youth Commissioner

                    In-School Youth Subsector                                     Out-of-School Youth Subsector

                    Municipality of Bantayan                                        Municipality of Alcoy

                MR. CHRISTIAN KAY YURANGO                        MS. SHANYLLE REGEN G. RELUYA

                    Provincial Youth Commissioner                             Provincial Youth Commissioner   

                    Youth with Special Needs Subsector                     Working Youth Subsector

                    Bogo City                                                                    Municipality of San Fernando

                MR. JESTONI MAR CABERIO                              MS. JULIE ANN A. TRINIDAD

                   Provincial Youth Commissioner                              Provincial Youth Commissioner

                    Religious Youth Subsector                                       Community Based Youth Subsector

                    Municipality of San Remigio                                    Municipality of Dalaguete


These new commissioners will hold their first meeting soon together with our Provincial Governor Hon. Hilario Davide III and Vice Governor Agnes Magpale.

The Municipal Government of Dalaguete would like to congratulate Ms. Julie Ann A. Trinidad of Poblacion, Dalaguete, Cebu for being elected as the Community Based Youth Commissioner which will serve for five years and will help the Provincial Youth Commission plan and implement projects and programs for the youth for our Municipality and the Province of Cebu. 

Business Directory

Go to top